dart frogs

DartFrogz.com is an international community, welcoming US, Canadian and European hobbyists DartFrogz.com is an international community, welcoming US, Canadian and European hobbyists DartFrogz.com is an international community, welcoming US, Canadian and European hobbyists

Sponsor

Unread 09-11-2009, 09:27 PM

Male
Default Culturing spring tails :)

Spring tail culturing tutorial

Hi there this is my first attempt at culturing spring tails. As a beginner in culturing Spring Tails I would deeply appreciate some incite where I may go wrong or right with the spring tail culturing.

The first photo shows the main bulk of the supplies which arrived in mail today from canadianfeeders.com. Finally they arrived .

my Spring tail cultures seem all right.

ingredients and supplies include are:

1.) Spring tail food (a green powder)

2.) Sterilized soil (the medium)

3.) Cardboard in which the spring tails can deposit their eggs I guess (this came with the package).

other materials I will be using spring water for a pure water source.

The second photo shows the preparation of the spring tail culture.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1. Spring tail culturing.jpg.jpg (39.7 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg 2. Sterylized soil, preparing culture.jpg.JPG (84.7 KB, 10 views)
File Type: jpg 3. Measuring the medium.jpg.JPG (79.9 KB, 8 views)
2 M/F D. azureus (pair)
2 F/F D. azureus (pair)

Last edited by GraemeG; 09-12-2009 at 01:53 AM.
Unread 09-12-2009, 01:52 AM

Male

To begin measuring the spring tail media, a measuring cup is rather handy, "obvious" .

1.) Measure the sterile soil

2.) Then poor the sterile soil into the container.

3.) Then poor the spring water, reverse osmosis or filtered water into the mix I used about a 3/4th cup medium to 3/4 cup of water. I did add a bit more sterile soil to "odd out" the ratio.

4.) Then grab the green food starter and mix the starter throughly with the sterilized soil medium.